
R89A(CA) · One Vehicle per Green
R89A(CA) Sizes & Dimensions
These sizes are listed in the linked California MUTCD table. Use the applicable roadway column and confirm the approved design and fabrication details with the roadway authority. All dimensions below are in inches.
Open R89A(CA) Official Size Table (PDF, opens in a new tab)Official PDF · Opens in a new tab
Sizes Listed in the California Manual
CA MUTCD 2026 Table 2B-1(CA) lists 36 × 18 inches in both conventional-road columns. It does not specify a minimum or freeway size for this entry. The artwork is from Figure 2B-29(CA); a standalone dimensioned drawing is not linked. Confirm approved fabrication details with the roadway authority.
- Conventional roads — single and multi-lane36" × 18"
Listed in both conventional-road columns of Table 2B-1(CA).
The minimum, expressway, freeway, and oversized columns have no listed value for this sign.
A manual table entry is not a standalone fabrication drawing. These sizes are listed in the linked California MUTCD table. Use the applicable roadway column and confirm the approved design and fabrication details with the roadway authority.
California Application & Variants
California replaces the federal R10-28 designation with R89A(CA) for this single-controlled-lane application. CA MUTCD 2026 Table 2B-1(CA) lists 36 × 18 inches in both conventional-road columns. It does not specify a minimum or freeway size for this entry. The artwork is from Figure 2B-29(CA); a standalone dimensioned drawing is not linked. Confirm approved fabrication details with the roadway authority.
Official References
- CA MUTCD 2026 §2B.61 — ramp-meter application (opens in a new tab)
- CA MUTCD 2026 Figure 2B-29(CA) — official sign artwork (opens in a new tab)
- CA MUTCD 2026 Table 2B-1(CA) — listed sizes (opens in a new tab)
- California MUTCD (Caltrans) (opens in a new tab)
- Federal MUTCD — 11th Edition (FHWA) (opens in a new tab)
- Caltrans Sign Charts (opens in a new tab)
- FHWA Standard Highway Signs (opens in a new tab)
Educational reference only. This is not an official Caltrans, FHWA, or local agency publication and is not legal or engineering advice. Always verify sign selection, size, placement, spacing, and application against the current CA MUTCD 2026, Caltrans sign specifications, Standard Plans, project documents, and the reviewing agency’s requirements. Local jurisdictions may impose additional requirements, and final selection, placement, and dimensions may require engineering judgment or agency approval. Reference editions: California MUTCD 2026 (effective January 18, 2026) and the Federal MUTCD 11th Edition with Revision 1.
Need to Rent or Purchase This Sign? Contact Public Ready.
Public Ready supports sign selection, project-ready sign packages, and equipment sourcing through qualified providers — with expert support built for compliance.